Biotechnology

Upcoming Events: "National Summit on "Resurgence of Non Conventional Wild Edible Plants of NE India"", 17 February 2020

The Department of Biotechnology was established in the year 1993. Since inception the Department has been creating manpower in diverse areas of biotechnology and is engaged in conducting research in frontier areas of the subject. The faculty members have been actively involved in teaching and research and have achieved accolades from various corners of scientific community. Over the last two decades, a number of research projects have been funded by DBT, DST, ICAR, MoEF, DRDO, UGC, ICMR, NMPB, SERB, GBPIHED, ASTEC and Govt. of Assam that have contributed to biotechnology research and extension. Major funds for infrastructure development were received from DBT and DST (FIST Program) in the last five years.

 

 

Professor

Mohan Chandra Kalita Head of the Department
MSc (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati) Postdoctoral Fellow (IARI, New Delhi) FLS (London)
Biochemistry, Plant Biology, Bioresource and Environmental Biotechnology
mckalita@gauhati.ac.in
Pratap Jyoti Handique [ Vice Chancellor, GU ]
MSc (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati) FLS (London)
Molecular Biology, Genomics, Plant Biotechnology, Genetic Engineering
pjh@gauhati.ac.in

Assistant Professor

Debasish Borbora
MSc (Bangalore)
Cancer Biology & Microbiology
debasish.borbora@gauhati.ac.in
Hridip Kumar Sarmah
MSc (Tezpur) PhD (RGU, Arunachal)
Environmental Biotechnology, Microbial Biotechnology
hridip@gauhati.ac.in
Mohammad Imtiyaj Khan
MSc (Bharathiar) PhD (Mysore)
Biochemistry and molecular biology of plant pigments
imtiyaj@gauhati.ac.in
Pranjan Barman
MSc (Tezpur) PhD (Gauhati)
Plant Molecular Biology, Genomics and Bioinformatics
pranjan.barman@gauhati.ac.in
Shyam Sundar Swargiary
MSc (Gauhati) PGDBI (Jamia Hamdard) PhD (Gauhati)
Immunology and Medical Biology
swargiary.ss77@gauhati.ac.in
Sujoy Bose
MSc (Gauhati) PhD (JMI)
Assistant Professor
sujoy.bose@gauhati.ac.in

Associated Faculty

Arun Kumar Handique
MSc (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati)
Plant Molecular Biology, Plant Biotic & Abiotic Stresses
arunkhandique@gauhati.ac.in
Rupjyoti Bharali
MSc (JNU) PhD (Gauhati) MPhil(JNU)
Biochemistry & Cancer Biology
rupjyoti.bharali@gauhati.ac.in